Get Familiar: Lanlord Collectin

About two months ago, a homie of mine told me about an upcoming project he was looking to release with a bunch of features from fellow Central Florida natives, soon after this conversation Lanlord Collectin showed me his new project #2014OURYEAR a mixtape featuring local Orlando rappers spitting over the upcoming producer’s original instrumentals. After a couple listens I was presently surprised by what I’d been listening to and gladly agreed to review the project on the site, below is a brief interview between me and the homie. Cop the recently released project here [Stream the mixtape below our interview] & keep your eyes on Lanlord Collection; he has a lot of talent, drive and a great work ethic that is destined to take him to the top sooner or later.

Skoodmusic: How long have you been making music?

Lanlord Collectin: “Been making music since the middle of November. So,  beginning of November 2013”

Who are some of your inspirations?

“Biggest aspirations are Metro Boomin, 808 Mafia, & Cardo”

What software do you use to make beats / record in?

“I make beats on FL studio 9 and do all recording & engineering in Pro Tools”

What’s your favorite song off the tape?

“My favorite song off of my mixtape is definitely either track 6, track 7, or track 18”

What’s next for you.. Any forthcoming releases scheduled?

“Lately I’ve been doing work with some of the artists off of my tape like Kunguru, Lil G & Goatsea, some work with another local artist named MVH, and a lot of collaborative productions with RAUCE, another local producer and good friend of mine. We expect a 9 to 10 track mixtape from Kunguru in Semtember-October, as well as another 12 track mixtape produced by me around Halloween time or a little after (ideas and confirmation still in the works)”

If you could work with any artist dead or alive who would it be?

“If I had to choose ANY artist dead or alive, I’m going to go with the alive and say woop. Straight out of Orlando going hard for the city with the trap music. Keep grinding.”

Who are some of your favorite upcoming musicians, and why?

“3 of my favorite upcoming artists are Woop, iLoveMakonnen, and RiffRaff. Woop is keeping the trap game alive and definitely paving more of a way for Orlando rappers. iLoveMakonnen is a California rapper that has been rapping on Atlanta producers beats such as metro boomin and sonny digital. I really like the music that they make, it’s a great twist from most Atlanta rap. RiffRaff is just killing the game all around. Not only does he got the swag but the dude sounds excellent on the mic. I definitely back him.” 

If you were trapt on a desert island with 3 things what would they be?

“Trapped on an island, I would definitely need a computer, wifi, and of course and big ol kingsize raw paper rolled!”

https://soundcloud.com/landlordcollectin/sets/2014ouryear-mixtape

 

Leave a Reply

